The definitive website for Lanzarote
villas, apartments and self-catering holidays
Quick search
Bookmark and Share

Casa Bonita holiday reviews (20)

Casa Bonita

Villa, 2 bedrooms in Macher, Lanzarote (sleeps 4), 2 bathrooms, private pool, car hire optional.

5th January 2014 by Ruth, Southend. (STAYED IN DECEMBER 2013)

“A lovely villa, with everything you could want. The location is just what we wanted in a quiet area, if you have teenage children this may not be the correct choice for you as Macher is not a tourist centre, but made it a wonderful setting for us.
Centrally located with good access to local shops, the villa is nicely decorated and the outside area gets the sun from sunrise to sunset and is very well set out.
I would say that a vehicle is essential, although there is a bus route at the top of the side roads in which the villa is located, but we hired a car for the length of our stay.
We had one problem while we were there, but I contacted Tony in the UK and within an hour the problem had been sorted, so no complaints there, in fact high praise indeed.
We had a wonderful holiday at Casa Bonita and would highly recommend this villa as a great choice to anyone planning a stay in Lanzarote.”

2nd August 2013 by Graham (STAYED IN JULY 2013)

“Honestly....it was nice...cosy....homely.....private to a degree.....but the photo images are somewhat deceiving, not dishonestly but with photographic artistic licence, in other words the wide angle lens helped to convey a property that appeared larger than actually is, that said, the images must be taken as such, however i must say i booked this house based upon the initial images seen and descriptions given, so when i arrived at this property i was somewhat taken aback, felt disappointed, but only for a moment or two, because when we arrived it was late, and the lack of sunshine dulled the moment, the fact that the property is part of a larger house, that is separated into three units also was a let down, this information should be made more clear, and an arial image or map or image showing property layout would avoid confusion, and misunderstanding, especially to those who like me like to be alone or in private, that said having been there now i can tell you it is not less of a place simply because of its construction, though sharing a drive and as such space, having neighbours, is not what i am used too, but as said after a short while i actually began to warm to this house, it was very carefully fitted out, mindful of all your needs, little touches that showed the owner cared, and valued you and your time in this house, the welcome pack, the quality of the furnishings and fabrics, the towels and the entertainment systems, all very good, the furniture very comfortable and the bed a dream, best nights sleep in a long while, the night was peaceful and i looked forward to the next day, and glorious sunshine brought a veritable smile upon this house, the pool was clean, warm and well looked after, the gardens too, the house immaculate and the peace, heavenly, we enjoyed very much the days that followed and felt very happy to have chosen this lovely little house, the owners were there when we arrived, and they were very obliging and considerate, after a few days the property next door was occupied, and we didn't hear a peep, so, delighted we were, this little house is not overlooked, and entirely suitable for an all over tan, and the outdoor facilities ensured a jolly good time for all, bbq was not used but if i return maybe i would use it, the gate to this property is in a position that could improve things if it were locked and higher up the steps affording even more privacy, but that would be my own personal groan, amongst an other wise lovely homely well fitted out holiday home at a very fair and honest price, would i go back yes, would i recommend it absolutely, and might i add, having had the opportunity to view the house next door, i can tell you that too is a delight, very spacious and again well fitted out, its location to both properties provides easy commuting to both airport and major tourist destinations, a stone throw from the old town of puerto del carmen and the new marina at puerto calero, and the views out to fuertaventura, are magnificent, whilst the landscape is magical at certain times of the day and night, i like also the fact that it would suit a large family or group of family and friends, each in privacy yet near enough to share a wonderful holiday in this wonderful Casa Bonita, on the truly magical island of lanzarote.”

4th March 2013 by Vicky, Hants (STAYED IN FEBRUARY 2013)

“This accomodation is one of the best we have ever stayed in. It was exactly as described on the website. Everything about the place was done to a high standard: comfortable furniture, good bathrooms, a well equipped kitchen and various lighting options all helped to make our stay most agreeable. The outside space was perfect for us with several places to sit and various tables and chairs to choose from. The window in the outside boundary wall was genius and we loved the views of the mountains and the sea in the distance. At night, the pool lighting and other outside lights created a magical space in which to sit and relax.This is a private and relaxing place whilst being close enough to Puerto del Carmen to provide for entertainment etc. Macher is well situated for getting around and the supermarkets are very handy. We would not hesitate to return to this lovely place.”

6th October 2012 by Angela - Guernsey (STAYED IN SEPTEMBER 2012)

“We found Casa Bonita an excellent place to stay, private but within easy reach of all shops, resorts and tourist places. The pool was brilliant and always lovely and warm, perfect for relaxing in at the end of a busy day. The villa itself was comfortable, very clean and well maintained and everything in it to give us the perfect carefree holiday we wanted. The team who look after the property were very helpful and friendly, as are the owners. Highly recommended.”

3rd October 2012 by Ian - Guernsey (STAYED IN SEPTEMBER 2012)

“I have just spent a week in Casa Bonita with my wife and daughter (20th till 27th September).
The villa is perfectly situated for reaching all the tourist locations on the island, but secluded enough to have the peach and tranquillity to enjoy the sun.
The villa has every little thing you could ask for in it and the English TV and Wi-Fi is an extra bonus.
The team who look after the villa are very helpful and English so no language barrier. A visit to Puerto Del Carmen is a must along with Costa Teguise. There are some great eateries one we found was the Galleon in Puerto Grande run by Irish staff, the food was great and not expensive.
The villa was very clean and comfortable and made are stay even more special, our only regret is we had to leave a temperature of 34°C to come back to Guernsey with a temperature of 16°C. Also as we had to be at the airport for 19.20pm for our flight home, Jan allowed us to stay in the villa until it was time to leave as no one was due in until the following Sunday, this gave us an extra day site seeing as we did not have to leave at 10.00am and drive around with our suite cases in the car.
I would recommend the villa to anyone and want to thank Nicky and Tony for a great stay.”

30th July 2012 by Roxanne (STAYED IN JULY 2012)

“Anyone looking for a real hideaway this is the villa for you, we were very happy with everything and was bigger than we thought, pool fantastic a car is a must as you are quite a way from amenities but thats what we wanted anyway. Everyone gardener, pool man and most of all Jan the housekeeper all lovely , helpful friendly people without intruding on your privacy (no rep visiting which is great !).
Can recommend for couples and families , we will certainly book again.
Roy, Roxanne & Jodie Talbot Peterborough.
Very hot !! 14/07 - 23/07 2012.”

15th February 2012 by Allan and Fiona and Sons. Cumbria UK (STAYED IN FEBRUARY 2012)

“A return visit to Cas Bonita and we were not dissapointed. The villa has recently been updated and the gardens overhauled and how beautiful it looked. The new queen sized bed in the master bedroom is a delight and once again piles of extra large towels were lovley. This villa really does have all the little touches which make it a real home from home. plenty of books, DVD's, a new large TV which gets most of the favourite sky channels ( enough to keep our teenager and toddler happy). a dishwasher and washing machine as well as coffee maker and a food processor if the need to cook takes you ! personally we prefered to eat out in one of themany great resteraunts in either pueto del carmen or the upmarket refinedresaut of pueto collero ( a must for gazing at the huge luxery yatchts). Nicky and Tony have worked really hard at making Casa Bonita and Casa Morena next door the ideal venues for your holiday and we have already booked again for August and we will be back next year too. A car is a must for this villa but the peace and quiet and idylic setting with views over fuetaventura in the distance make it a real Must stay in our opinion. Many thanks to Nicky and Tony and All the support team in Lanzarote x”

27th February 2011 by Antony, Notts (STAYED IN FEBRUARY 2011)

“A lovely well equipped casa situated in Macher, which proved to be an ideal base for touring the island - no where is far on Lanzarote. Sitting out on the patio for breakfast in February is just what you want to shift those winter blues. There's everything you could need in the casa (very well managed by David and cleaned by Jan) and the pool is great for a refreshing splash. Looking out from the patio, there are distant views of Fuerteventura, sometimes looking very close, other times distant, depending on the weather. Self catering is easy in the well appointed kitchen; relaxing in the sitting room is comfortable with plenty of books, games and jigsaws if you want them; the bedrooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable and the ensuite and bathroom are commodious. All in all, a perfect find and we hope to visit again.”

9th February 2011 by Annebet from Holland (STAYED IN JANUARY 2011)

“A beautiful, cosy house with lots of little extras. For example we could stay our last day until our plane left.(thank you, Jan) This gave us an extra whole day relaxing at the pool. Dave took very good care not only of the property but also of us he had lots of good advice about the island. Thanks to the heating of the pool we could swim every day during our stay in January”

9th January 2011 by mark (STAYED IN JANUARY 2011)

“The villa is very well located in a quiet, peaceful yet accessible location. The pool, although small, was lovely and warm, we used it every day. The exterior of the villa was a little neglected and the outside area could have been better maintained. Unfortunately there was no welcoming pack waiting for us in the villa, this would have been nice as our plane was delayed and we arrived on a Sunday.
The kitchen was well equipped, having a washing machine and dishwasher was a boon. Both bathrooms and living area were great but our bedroom smelt/was damp.
All in all it was good value for money but would benefit from some end of season maintenance.”

Owner's response: I am so sorry this has happened. I am not sure what has gone wrong but will deal with it straight away. It sounds as though there was a problem with the management and a misunderstanding of what had to be done. Please be assured that it won't happen again.

5th January 2011 by Chris, stroud (STAYED IN DECEMBER 2010)

“We had a lovely stay. the villa was just as we hoped - clean, comfortable and homely. The heated pool was a delight and the location was quiet but near enough to everything you could want. The whole experience, from booking to coming home was easy and enjoyable.”

5th January 2011 by Sarah, Hertford (STAYED IN DECEMBER 2010)

“Casa Bonita is a comfortable and very well equipped villa with two en suite bedrooms. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare a proper meal and there is an outdoor barbeque as well. The pool is solar heated with nice stone steps into the water, not huge, but big enough to do a few strokes and ideal for children. The villa is outside the main resorts in the countryside, peaceful and quiet, yet only five minutes drive from a very well stocked supermarket (Eurospar) and two excellent restaurants. You can see the sea in the distance from the patio. Its also on the airport side of the island so its a really easy fifteen minute drive when you arrive. We had a lovely stay.”

Owner's response: Just a note to say that the pool is solar heated but also backed up electrically in the winter to keep the temperatures up.

8th September 2010 by Fiona, Warsash (STAYED IN AUGUST 2009)

“We LOVE Casa Bonita. We have visited 5 times now and each time it is like coming home as it IS a real home from home. All the comforts are there. It’s great having a dishwasher & microwave and the fact that you don’t have to pack beach towels makes a massive difference when trying to conform to the low baggage weights! And the welcome meal and refreshments make you feel quite spoiled esp when your flight is 5 hours late - although this was the only time we've been delayed quite that badly.

We love the fact that there are lots of very plush towels – it feels very luxurious. The bathrooms are lovely. We loved dipping into the book collection there.

Our favourite thing without a doubt is the pool - it is SO lovely and hot. We practically lived in it. It's a lovely size, shape and the steps are great for just sitting and contemplating life on. The garden surrounding it is full of pretty flowers too.

A final thing to say is that the location is fantastic too. It's peaceful and quiet giving you the feeling of seclusion but everything you need can be reached within 10 minutes.”

27th August 2010 by paula & andy, Catford London (STAYED IN AUGUST 2010)

“this was our first time in renting a villa in lanzarote as we usually stay on small complex's this is our 4th visit and we was not disappointed one bit, casa bonita is a lovely villa in a very quiet and secluded area. We enjoyed the peace and the beautiful scenery. We would definately recommend this villa is anyone who is looking for the above and we will definately book again, hopefully for next year 2011. The villa is very spacious and airy, it is like going from a home to home environment. There is plenty of facilities if you want to stay in and cook but it is only a short drive to some lovely restaurants, we found a lovely fish + chip shop in the old town of puerto del carmen which was absolutely gorgeous would highly recommend.”

7th August 2010 by Fiona and Allan - Cumbria (STAYED IN JULY 2010)

“We are long time visitors to Lanzarote and have stayed in many villas but this is by far one of the best. Nicky has gone out of her way to think of every little home comfort you may require from a very generous welcome pack to a small library of books, dvd's for the whole family and easy listening music cd's. Inflatables for the pool and gorgeous 5* quality bath sheets ( none of your well worn thin ones!) comfortable beds with thick cotton sheets, a beautiful quiet ,tranquil location with views out to the ocean and accross to Fuetaventura. David ( manager) is like a comfortable old friend with a good "craic" and helpful advice. All in all a real gem of a property if you just want to unwind and relax. If bars and clubs and nightlife is your thing then try puerto del carmen instead.......leave this treasure to the rest of us.”

16th June 2010 by Sheri, Surrey (STAYED IN MAY 2010)

“Casa Bonita was absolutely ideal for our family.. It's a lovely villa with it's own swimming pool, something we haven't experienced before. We were very impressed with the cleanliness, efficiency and friendliness of the owners, manager and cleaning staff. The location is very quiet, which is what we were looking for and the pool area is sheltered from the wind. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here.”

26th February 2010 by HeatherS (STAYED IN FEBRUARY 2010)

“Beautiful property, in a lovely secluded location with lots to see and do on the doorstep. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the property manager and owners (who were next door for our second week) most helpful and friendly yet respectful of our privacy. Everything we needed for a relaxing stay was provided and the heated pool was a wonderful and safe playground - for the children and us!
We can't recommend this little haven highly enough - thanks to Nicky and Tony for a wonderful holiday - their helpful advice and assistance pre-booking made us feel secure we had chosen the right place. We will no doubt see you again soon.”

Owner's response: Thank you for sending the review and for saying such nice things about us. Thank you also, and everyone else who has done so, for writing in the visitors book. We love to read it when we can and are pleased that everyone has enjoyed their stay with us.

28th October 2009 by Josie (STAYED IN OCTOBER 2009)

“I had an excellent time in this villa. Very comfortable and plenty of room for a family of 4 , although I was on my own. The pool was lovely and the property manager was very friendly and helpful. It was fantastically quiet when I needed it to be and yet it was in easy driving distance to Puerto del Carmen - a very beautiful harbour town with a fantastic view and also Playa Blanca, where there were a lot of very friendly people. The Volcano National Park was spectacular and the Lagoon and coastline around El Golfo was so fantastic and calming that it made the whole experience quite emotional. I hope to bring some of my family back here in the future as I know they would thoroughly enjoy it.”

Owner's response: Thank you for sending a review. It is pleasing to know that we give our guests what they need to relax and enjoy the time they spend with us.

13th August 2009 by Chris & Catherine, West Yorkshire (STAYED IN JANUARY 2009)

“The views from Casa Bonita are superb and unlike many villas we have stayed Casa Bonita is extremely well equiped. One of my personal bugbears is not having sharp knives and enough pots and pans to produce a decent meal. This villa delivers on both counts. Although there was only two of us the villa is very well suited for four people with each bedroom having its own bathroom. The peace and tranquillity of Casa Bonita will appeal to those who want to be near enough to the bustle of Puerto del Carmen without having to endure it 24/7. The quality of the accomodation is excellent and we would highly recommend Casa Bonita to anyone looking for a peaceful retreat that is still close to all the major attractions of Lanzarote. The pool was plenty warm enough for our daily swim even though we were there in the coldest January for years. If we HAD to criticise anything, the pool could be a bit bigger and a lockable gate at the bottom of the steps would ensure privacy. Overall a fabulous villa for two or four people that is sensibly priced. We will certainly return.”

Owner's response: Thank you for your nice comments. We have put in a gate now at the bottom of the steps although it was impractical to make it lockable (metal rusts in that climate and keys get lost). We are so far from the road that the only people likely to disturb are the cleaners and manager when he does the pool. They all assure me that they always call out before going in so that guests have a chance to cover up if they wish to. We can't do anything about the size of the pool but most people like just to be in it. You would need a much bigger property to be able to have a pool suitable for serious swimming.

13th August 2009 by Grace (STAYED IN NOVEMBER 2008)

“A wonderful property, in very peaceful relaxing surroundings, yet only a few minutes drive from shops and restaurants. Very well-equiped kitchen, so easy to self-cater, with the added bonus of UK Sky TV to watch in the evenings!”

Owner's response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am very pleased that you found the villa just what you needed for the time you were here. If we can help again in any way, please let me know. Kind regards, Nicky Phillimore

Have you stayed in this property? Post a holiday review here »

Sponsored links

My Shortlist

1 property saved

Further info

Property ref. 7703

To book contact:
Nicky Phillimore

on +44 (0)7738 566 533

Send email enquiry »

Property information

Write a review

Lanzarote Flights

The Breaks Company (UK) Ltd © 2002-2014 The Breaks Company (UK) Ltd.
Registered in England no. 4516827. All rights reserved.